Sat, 23rd May 2020

Electricity Exchange – Tech Excellence Awards It Project Of The Year (SME) 2019 Winner

We are delighted to announce that on Thursday 23rd May, Electricity Exchange was announced as a winner at the 2019 Tech Excellence Awards which took place at the Citywest hotel, Dublin.

Electricity Exchange founders Dr. Paddy Finn and Duncan O’Toole were on hand to receive the award for SME IT Project of the Year from Julian Hubble of DrayTek.

The innovative project which secured the award was the development of our IoTAS technology which was designed and developed completely in-house and was headed by M.D and T.D, Dr. Paddy Finn.

IoTAS is an industry leading energy metering and control system that enables electricity customers to earn revenue by using their electricity demand to support the reliability of the national power system. The system is the most advanced demand response control and metering system in the market with the ability to monitor grid conditions 8,000 times a second and react to grid frequency events within 60 milliseconds. This proven technology is deployed on large energy users’ premises, providing them with access to the highest DS3 System Service payments in the market.

DS3 System Services is a suite of services employed by Ireland’s Transmission System Operator (TSO), EirGrid, which allows them to operate a secure, reliable and more renewable grid. Services like these help to futureproof the grid and lead Ireland to a cleaner, greener future.

The Tech Excellence award represents a big win for the company and everyone at Electricity Exchange is delighted to be a part of this success especially in such a competitive category.

This award brings great attention to the pioneering work undertaken and the innovative ideas that the team here at Electricity Exchange produce.

On the night, our MD, Paddy Finn expressed his excitement saying “Winning this award is incredibly rewarding because of the work that has gone into this technology to get IoTAS to this stage. IoTAS has been in development for 4 years and to see it be exactly where we as a team want it to be is both rewarding and exciting”.

Echoing Paddy’s comment, our Commercial Director, Duncan O’Toole said “It’s great to receive this recognition especially when we’re all focused on getting IoTAS ready for an upcoming international launch. It’s another sign that we’re headed in the right direction”.

Congratulations to all winners and nominees at this year’s awards. We’d like to extend a massive thank you to all staff at the Citywest hotel for their work in creating a great occasion for everyone in attendance.


CIO of the year sponsored by Viatel

Tim Hynes, AIB

Hibernia Award

Bill Kearney, IBM

Company of the year sponsored by TechPro

Trilogy Technologies

Person of the year sponsored by Keppel Data Services

Peter Davitt, FIT

Career recognition award sponsored by Intellicom

Brendan O’Malley, former CEO, Lero

IT Project of the year (private sector) sponsored by Fujitsu, Total Import Solutions & Square One Distribution

Enterprise Defence, a Fastcom company

IT project of the year (public sector) sponsored by Teamwork

Triangle with ESB

IT project of the year (SME) sponsored by Draytek

Electricity Exchange

Digital Edge award sponsored by

Three Ireland

Digital strategy partner of the year sponsored by Softcat


Startup award sponsored by The Sunday Times


Professional development award sponsored by AIB

Trilogy Technologies

Data centres innovation award sponsored by

Irish Defence Forces