• Ireland Irish Flag
  • Australia Australian Flag

Electricity Exchange’s Managing Director Dr Paddy Finn has been announced as a finalist for the 2018 EY Entrepreneur of the Year award

Dr Paddy Finn will compete amongst 24 Irish business owners for the coveted title of EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2018 Ireland, with the winner going on to represent Ireland at the World Entrepreneur of the Year in Monaco in June 2019

5 EY awards arranged on a podium

Their companies employ more than 2,700 people and generate annual revenues in excess of €150 million. The finalists in each category were selected from a total group of 110 candidates from across Ireland. The winner will be determined by a group of previous winners and representatives from sponsor agencies. The judging process includes a number of key criteria that must be met and exceeded including Entrepreneurial spirit and vision, Innovation and Community Impact.

On the announcement, Paddy wanted to express his sincerest thanks to all of the people, including his peers that nominated him for the award. “We are proud to say the success of Electricity Exchange is due to our clients, without them we would not be recognised for these industry awards and honours. These nominations show that each year we are continuing to strive towards our expansive goals and ensure that our motivation to constantly find new ways to innovate continues. This is an exciting time for Electricity Exchange as we move into a new purpose-built office space. Our plans are now for international expansion to deliver on our mission statement worldwide.”

Paddy Finn standing in front of an Electricity Exchange promotional board


Emerging Category

  • Paddy Finn, Electricity Exchange, Limerick
  • Darragh McCarthy, FinTrU, Antrim
  • Joe Wiley, Amryt Pharma plc, Dublin
  • Patrick J. Rigney, The Shed Distillery of P.J. Rigney, Leitrim
  • Elaine Sullivan, Carrick Therapeutics, Dublin
  • David and Sandra Whelan, VR Education Holdings plc, Waterford
  • Eoin Leonard, i3PT Certification, Dublin
  • Noel O’Hanlon, Genesis Automation, Cork

Industry Category

  • P.J. Flanagan, H&MV Engineering Limited, Limerick
  • Vicki O’Toole, JJ O’Toole Ltd, Limerick
  • David Maxwell, Boojum, Antrim
  • Dominic Fitzpatrick, The Irish News, Antrim
  • Bill Wolsey, Beannchor Group, Antrim
  • Louise Kennedy, Louise Kennedy, Dublin
  • Gareth Chambers, Around Noon, Down
  • Rachel Doyle, Arboretum, Carlow

International Category

  • Peter Keeling, Diaceutics, Louth
  • Tony Richardson, Venn Life Sciences, Dublin
  • Peter Coppinger & Daniel Mackey,, Cork
  • Ray Cole, Virginia International Logistics, Cavan
  • Barry Napier, Cubic Telecom Limited, Dublin
  • Mary McKenna, Tour America/Cruise Holidays, Dublin
  • Damien McGovern & Pat Lynch, Compliance & Risks Limited, Cork
  • Aine Lecky & Eibhlin Murphy, Major Equipment (Intl) Limited, Mayo